• delivery truck icon Free shipping on all orders over $50

Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott: Manchester Calling (2LP)

Manchester Calling (2LP)

Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott

  • CDN $44.99
  • Release Date 06 March 2020
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl LP
Paul Heaton, a hugely successful songwriter with some 10 million album sales under his belt, first came to public attention in the early 80s as front man of Hull-based indie poppers The Housemartins (the same group that spawned Norman 'Fatboy Slim' Cook), who released two albums 'London 0 Hull 4' ('86) and 'The People Who Grinned Themselves To Death' ('87). In '88 Heaton formed The Beautiful South, who released 10 hugely successful albums - 'Welcome To The Beautiful South' ('89), Choke ('90), '0898 Beautiful South' ('92), 'Miaow' ('94), 'Blue Is The Colour' ('96), 'Quench' ('98), 'Painting It Red' (2000), 'Gaze' ('03), 'Golddiggas, Headnodders & Pholk Songs' ('04) and 'Superbi' ('06). In 2001 Heaton took a break from The Beautiful South and released his first solo album 'Fat Chance'. The Beautiful South called it a day in 2007 citing 'musical similarities'. Jacqui Abbott was lead vocalist in the Beautiful South from '94 to 2000. Paul Heaton went on to release two further solo albums: 'The Cross-Eyed Rambler' ('08) and 'Acid Country' ('10). In 2011 Heaton wrote a musical called 'The 8th' based on the Seven Deadly Sins and asked Jacqui to sing one of the parts. Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott have since released three acclaimed Top 5 albums as a duo: 'What Have We Become' ('14), 'Wisdom, Laughter and Lines' ('15) and 'Crooked Calypso' ('17).
1 The Only Exercise I Get Is You  
2 If You Could See Your Faults  
3 Somebody's Superhero  
4 Big News In A Little World  
5 You And Me (Were Meant To Be Together)  
6 The Outskirts Of The Dancefloor  
7 So Happy  
8 A Good Day Is Hard To Find  
9 Fat Of The Land  
10 All Of My Friends  
11 The Prison  
12 House Party  
13 He's Got What I Had  
14 New York Ivy  
15 MCR Calling  
16 My Legal High