• delivery truck icon Free shipping on all orders over $100

Various Artists [Artist]: The Vinyl Series Vol. 1 (Currated By Chris Blackwell) (LP)

The Vinyl Series Vol. 1 (Currated By Chris Blackwell) (LP)

Various Artists [Artist]

  • CDN $37.99
  • Release Date 26 March 2021
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl LP
Since its beginnings in Jamaica in 1959, the story of the pioneering Island Records label has been inextricably linked to the story of its founder, Chris Blackwell. Now, Blackwell has curated a series of compilation LPs, featuring his hand-picked tracks that correspond with his and Island’s legendary history. The first volume of The Vinyl Series includes such groundbreaking hits as Millie Small’s “My Boy Lollipop” and “Israelites” by Desmond Dekker and the Aces—songs which introduced much of the world to the sound of Jamaican music. The context for these singles is set by several early singles by Toots and the Maytalls and “Forward March” by a teenage Derrick Morgan, the “first star of ska.”
2 Six and Seven Books of Moses – Toots & The Maytals  
3 Rivers of Babylon – The Melodians  
4 Forward March – Derrick Morgan  
5 Liquidator – Harry J. All Stars  
6 Israelites – Desmond Dekker & The Aces  
7 007 (Shanty Town) – Desmond Dekker and The Aces  
1 My Boy Lollipop – Millie Small  
2 54-46 Was My Number – Toots & The Maytals  
3 Keep On Running – The Spencer Davis Group  
4 Gimme Some Lovin’ – The Spencer Davis Group  
5 Mockingbird - Charlie & Inez Foxx  
6 Harlem Shuffle – Bob & Earl  
7 I Can’t Stand It – The Soul Sisters